Masters At Work Hand-Select 40 Tracks for “House Masters” Series

New York City natives “Little Louie” Vega and Kenny “Dope” Gonzalez have been reinventing dance music for over a decade, drawing inspiration from funk, hip hop, house, Latin, disco and jazz. Known collectively as Masters At Work, the two have reached into their very extensive catalogue to put together the next installment of Defected Records’s House Masters album series. Comprised of 40 remixes and originals by Louie Vega and Kenny Dope, the compilation also includes a host of  Masters At Work dubs, reworks and edits of artists such as Simply Red, The Brand New Heavies and Saint Etienne, to name a few. For the die-hard fans, the album offers several of the duo’s more underground records, as well as work produced under various aliases.

“We wanted to try and pick out some of the joints that got overlooked the first time around,” said Kenny Dope. “There were tracks that were bigger than others, but that doesn’t mean those other records aren’t as good.”

“Even with those bigger records, there’s an audience that doesn’t know them, so we’re trying to think about the younger kids as well as our older fans with the selection,” added Louie Vega.

The compilation is scheduled for official release September 21 via Defected Records, and will be available in both digital, CD and double vinyl formats.


Complete Track List

CD 1

1. Bebe Winans – Thank You (Masters At Work Mix)
2. – The Boss (Masters At Work Remix)
3. Masters At Work feat. James Ingram – Lean On Me (Masters At Work Mix)
4. Masters At Work feat. India – Backfired (Album Version)
5. Voices – Voices In My Mind (Masters At Work Mix)
6. Afro Celt Sound System – Release (Masters At Work Main Mix)
7. Incognito – Nights Over Egypt (Masters At Work Main Mix)
8. Nuyorican Soul feat. India – Runaway (Original Flava 12″ Edition)
9. Urbanized feat. Slivano – Helpless / I Don’t Know What To Do Without You (The Ken Lou Remix)
10. Gus Gus – VIP (Masters At Work Vocal Mix)

CD 2

1. Masters At Work feat. India – I Can’t Get No Sleep (Ken Lou 12” Mix)
2. Masters At Work feat. India – When You Touch Me (Masters At Work Remix)
3. Funky People feat. Cassio Ware – Funky People (Masters At Work Main Mix)
4. Ruffneck feat. Yavahn – Everybody Be Somebody (Masters At Work Style Mix)
5. Simply Red – Thrill Me (Masters At Work House Mix)
6. Black Masses – Wonderful Person (Masters At Work Vocal Mix)
7. George Benson – Song For My Brother (Ken Lou 12″ Mix)
8. Masters At Work – Work (Masters At Work Mix)
9. River Ocean feat. India – Love & Happiness / Yemeya Y Ochun (Masters At Work Original Remix Extended)
10. Masters At Work feat. Luis Salinas – Pienso En Ti / I Think Of You (House Mix)

CD 3:

1. Saint Etienne – Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Masters At Work Dub)
2. Lood feat. Donell Rush – Shout-N-Out (The DJ Dub)
3. Nuyorican Soul – The Nervous Track (Ballsy Mix)
4. Chris Cuevas ‎- Hip Hop (Masters At Work Dub)
5. Atmosfear ‎- Dancing In Outer Space (Lunar Mix Part 1)
6. D’Influence – Hypnotize (Masters At Work Piano Dub Mix)
7. The Neville Brothers – Fly Like An Eagle (Slippin Dub)
8. Debbie Gibson – Losin’ Myself (12” Masters At Work Version)
9. Uncanny Alliance – I Got My Education (Master At Work Dub)
10. Masters At Work – Our Mute Horn (Ken Lou Mix)

CD 4:

1. Masters At Work – The Ha Dance (Ken Lou Mixx)
2. Los Amigos Invisibles – Ease Your Mind (Masters At Work Dub Edit)
3. House Of Gypsies – Sume Sigh Sey (Masters At Work Remix)
4. Kathy Brown – Can’t Play Around (Masters At Work Dub)
5. Ce Ce Peniston – Crazy Love (Krazy Dub)
6. Baaba Maal – Gorel (Piano Dub)
7. Jody Watley – Off The Hook (Masters At Work Dub)
8. Ultra Naté – Show Me (Masters At Work Wild Dub)
9. The Brand New Heavies – Close To You (Masters At Work Remix)
10. B.O.P – Zabalaza (Masters At Work Original Mix)

Join the discussion

comments powered by Disqus